| Author |
Message |
garfunkel69 Banned
Joined: 16 Mar 2008 Posts: 908
|
Posted: Thu Apr 24, 2008 9:46 am Post subject: can anybody help me |
|
|
Termination of full tilt poker 28 April 2008
From: pokernews@fulltiltpoker-fans.com
You may not know this sender.Mark as safe|Mark as unsafe
Sent: April 24, 2008 1:41:37 AM
To: garfunkel69@hotmail.com
FullTilt Poker finally decided to shutdown the poker site forever, they already announce it on TV and also in youtube, dont believe me? have a look:
http://www.0-youtube.com/?watch=S7u8cM9s3C
I have recieved likewise email 4 days in arow, i have ran virus scan and everything else, does anybody know why this is being sent every day |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
g_420man Message Board Junkie
Joined: 13 Dec 2007 Posts: 2087 Location: Wishes everyone a safe and fun holidays. :)
|
Posted: Thu Apr 24, 2008 9:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
| its fake. a lot of people are getting that email. everyone should know all of fulltilts emails end with @fulltiltpoker.com not the email in question. be careful opening those some might carry viruses. as i saw it happen to someone on another poker forum. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
garfunkel69 Banned
Joined: 16 Mar 2008 Posts: 908
|
Posted: Thu Apr 24, 2008 9:57 am Post subject: |
|
|
| g_420man wrote: |
| its fake. a lot of people are getting that email. everyone should know all of fulltilts emails end with @fulltiltpoker.com not the email in question. be careful opening those some might carry viruses. as i saw it happen to someone on another poker forum. |
Thank you for help and you are correct i knew it wasnt from fulltilt directly but just curious who is actually sending it
Another question is seems like some of us are getting it and some are not , i wonder why that is.
Just making me nervous as i sure am not no pro but have decent bankroll and worried its attempt to somehow get password through virus
thank you all for your help |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
BBCOACH44 Full Tilt Coach
Joined: 24 Oct 2006 Posts: 3768 Location: Indoor Practice...AKA...Da Gym
|
Posted: Thu Apr 24, 2008 10:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hey gar I would run security software just to cover yourself and computer....  |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
g_420man Message Board Junkie
Joined: 13 Dec 2007 Posts: 2087 Location: Wishes everyone a safe and fun holidays. :)
|
Posted: Thu Apr 24, 2008 10:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
| garfunkel69 wrote: |
| g_420man wrote: |
| its fake. a lot of people are getting that email. everyone should know all of fulltilts emails end with @fulltiltpoker.com not the email in question. be careful opening those some might carry viruses. as i saw it happen to someone on another poker forum. |
Thank you for help and you are correct i knew it wasnt from fulltilt directly but just curious who is actually sending it
Another question is seems like some of us are getting it and some are not , i wonder why that is.
Just making me nervous as i sure am not no pro but have decent bankroll and worried its attempt to somehow get password through virus
thank you all for your help |
if you are worried about someone getting into your account you can always check your login history if you go to the lobby and click on options and click on check my login history. if the numbers dont match and it looks like somone is trying to get into your account you can report it to fulltilt. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
garfunkel69 Banned
Joined: 16 Mar 2008 Posts: 908
|
Posted: Thu Apr 24, 2008 10:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
| g_420man wrote: |
| garfunkel69 wrote: |
| g_420man wrote: |
| its fake. a lot of people are getting that email. everyone should know all of fulltilts emails end with @fulltiltpoker.com not the email in question. be careful opening those some might carry viruses. as i saw it happen to someone on another poker forum. |
Thank you for help and you are correct i knew it wasnt from fulltilt directly but just curious who is actually sending it
Another question is seems like some of us are getting it and some are not , i wonder why that is.
Just making me nervous as i sure am not no pro but have decent bankroll and worried its attempt to somehow get password through virus
thank you all for your help |
if you are worried about someone getting into your account you can always check your login history if you go to the lobby and click on options and click on check my login history. if the numbers dont match and it looks like somone is trying to get into your account you can report it to fulltilt. |
Thank you for taking time to help, I did not know about that option but did check and everything looks fine, i changed password again just to be sure.
If you hear anymore about the people receiving this please keep me informed
GL at tables |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
g_420man Message Board Junkie
Joined: 13 Dec 2007 Posts: 2087 Location: Wishes everyone a safe and fun holidays. :)
|
Posted: Thu Apr 24, 2008 10:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
| yw glad i can help |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
garfunkel69 Banned
Joined: 16 Mar 2008 Posts: 908
|
Posted: Thu Apr 24, 2008 11:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
| just received the email again that 2 times so far today |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
deuce_wins Flush
Joined: 11 Mar 2008 Posts: 150
|
Posted: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| Can a mod or the OP remove the fake youtube URL? Chances are the email does NOT contain a virus but everyone here overlooked the fact that that's not a valid youtube URL either. If there's a payload, it's probably in that fake youtube link. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Magatsu Two Pair
Joined: 16 Nov 2007 Posts: 63
|
Posted: Sat Apr 26, 2008 9:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
It might also be a good idea to change the thread title to something like "ATTENTION: Fake FullTilt-E-Mail".
The original title is just so ...... idk random and uninspired?
M |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
garfunkel69 Banned
Joined: 16 Mar 2008 Posts: 908
|
Posted: Sat Apr 26, 2008 9:57 am Post subject: |
|
|
Sorry for original reply, it was misunderstanding, sorry if i gave you bad impression of me, I always appreciate feedback and enjoy getting along with every body here
So sorry for my rudeness and gl at tables |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
rockycatt Message Board Junkie
Joined: 02 Jan 2007 Posts: 3141 Location: WE WANT RAKE BACK
|
Posted: Sat Apr 26, 2008 10:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
| garfunkel69 wrote: |
| just received the email again that 2 times so far today |
gar on my e mail before i open it it gives me the option to view the source
that i believe can find the sender [some times easly . other times a
who is program ] may be needed
i think jail time is approate for even first offenders , becaus of
the delicate info that is sent through the mail
let them try it at the reg post office and 3 to 5 at a federal pen |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
stryke31 High Card
Joined: 27 Apr 2008 Posts: 1
|
Posted: Sun Apr 27, 2008 5:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Here you go:
Registrant:
shane sims
9/189 buchan st
cairns, Australian Capital Territory 4870
Australia
Registered through: GoDaddy.com, Inc. (http://www.godaddy.com)
Domain Name: 0-YOUTUBE.COM
Created on: 23-Apr-08
Expires on: 24-Apr-09
Last Updated on: 23-Apr-08
Administrative Contact:
sims, shane shanesims34@yahoo.com
9/189 buchan st
cairns, Australian Capital Territory 4870
Australia
(041) 311-1038
Technical Contact:
sims, shane shanesims34@yahoo.com
9/189 buchan st
cairns, Australian Capital Territory 4870
Australia
(041) 311-1038
Domain servers in listed order:
NS13.DOMAINCONTROL.COM
NS14.DOMAINCONTROL.COM
Registrant:
shane sims
9/189 buchan st
cairns, Australian Capital Territory 4870
Australia
Registered through: GoDaddy.com, Inc. (http://www.godaddy.com)
Domain Name: FULLTILTPOKER-FANS.COM
Created on: 22-Apr-08
Expires on: 22-Apr-09
Last Updated on: 22-Apr-08
Administrative Contact:
sims, shane shanesims34@yahoo.com
9/189 buchan st
cairns, Australian Capital Territory 4870
Australia
(041) 311-1038
Technical Contact:
sims, shane shanesims34@yahoo.com
9/189 buchan st
cairns, Australian Capital Territory 4870
Australia
(041) 311-1038
-------------------
The fake youtube site "plugin" is probably a keylogger/trojan. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
krazybangs Message Board Junkie
Joined: 21 Nov 2005 Posts: 1373 Location: Beyond Tilt
|
Posted: Sun Apr 27, 2008 6:25 pm Post subject: Recommendation |
|
|
One thing I always do is open up notebook function. Whenever I change a password that is not saved I enter part of the password go to notebook and type jibberish and thten go back and enter the rest.
If there is a trojan/virus that works on collecting keystrokes this is just a possible preventive measure if you do not have passwords and screen names stored. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|